Toritto – A Life In Pictures – #7

And so the prom passes.  Her father was not amused when I brought her home at ten the next morning.  It was Memorial Day weekend and without a smile he said “Seeing as how you kept my daughter out all night, you might as well come to the barbecue this afternoon!”  JoAnn smiled.

We continued dating and were inseparable from that day forward, an “item” and now a couple to our friends.  We knew by September that we would marry eventually.

I however still had my military service in front of me.  These were the days of conscription and I was not enrolled in day college though I was attending night classes.  I could be drafted anytime.

So we made a plan.  I was only twenty; she seventeen.  I would get my service out of the way, we would save our money and then we would marry.  She got a job at Ma Bell and I entered the army on November 18, 1963, four days before JFK was gunned down in Dallas.

We suffered during separation.  I was at Fort Dix New Jersey so she would come visit me on weekends.  I came home on Christmas leave,  We decided to marry.  And we did on December 28, 1963.  So much for plans.

You can read about it here:  https://toritto.wordpress.com/2016/12/02/our-fabulous-christmas-wedding-2/

That’s her father Carmine looking on – a truly good man.

My mom and dad at the wedding.  She would be gone in two and a half years.

My mom and new mother in law, both named Mary and sharing the same birthday.

We didn’t have a honeymoon.  I had to be back at Ft. Dix on January 3rd.  We rented a small apartment in the home of one of her girlfriends and we spent our few days together there. Within a week I was back in the army.  In March 1964 I was transferred to Fort Devens in Ayer, Massachusetts for further training. She would join me in Ayer in an off post apartment in town.

.

 

 

 

About toritto

I was born during year four of the reign of Emperor Tiberius Claudius on the outskirts of the empire in Brooklyn. I married my high school sweetheart, the girl I took to the prom and we were together for forty years until her passing in 2004. We had four kids together and buried two together. I had a successful career in Corporate America (never got rich but made a living) and traveled the world. I am currently retired in the Tampa Bay metro area and live alone. One of my daughters is close by and one within a morning’s drive. They call their pops everyday. I try to write poetry (not very well), and about family. Occasionally I will try a historical piece relating to politics. :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Toritto – A Life In Pictures – #7

  1. beetleypete says:

    What a coincidence about your Mum and your mother-in-law.
    JoAnn looks so happy in your wedding photos, with that delightful smile always on her face.
    Even though I don’t really know you, and would never have met her, I still feel a strange sadness that she never got to see CC.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mukhamani says:

    Thank you for sharing the beautiful photos 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. shelly2020 says:

    I am looking for a missing relative that may have gone to Lafayette High School with you in 1950. Is there a way I could privately contact you?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. toritto says:

    Shelly – I graduated in 1959 (not 1950 (unless you meant 1959 and there is a typo in your comment) but in any case I am in touch with absolutely NO ONE from high school. Regards.

    P.S. My email address can usually be obtained through wordpress..

    Like

Leave a Reply

