Toritto – A Life In Pictures – #20

While Pam and Rob embarked on married life together Marie went back to law school, graduating Juris Doctor with honors and obtaining a position in the prosecutor’s office as Assistant State’s Attorney.  She still holds that position, specializing in domestic violence crimes.

When she graduated she was casually invited to the celebration party of a classmate.  So she partied with us and also the classmate.  He would turn out to be her future husband, Joseph.

They studied for the Bar Exam together.  That particular year the exam was being given at the Tampa Convention Center.  It was a two day affair.  We reserved a room early in the hotel adjacent to the convention center.   They took the Bar Exam together and passed together and both were admitted to the Florida Bar.

A year and a half after graduating he asked me for her hand.  He didn’t have to; but he did.

It became official in front of Santa.  Each year these two have their pictures taken with Santa – they will watch themselves grow old together.

and so we began planning the wedding which was held in November 2010.  She was 33.

The bride and her sister

A kiss before giving her away

 

Me, my daughters and new son-in-law Joseph  I was 68.

“I now pronounce you husband and wife.”

The bride and groom entering the reception

The old guy with the grey hair is me.

But of course the wedding couldn’t go without a hitch.

 Several days before the wedding, their honeymoon destination, St. Lucia,  was devastated by Hurricane Tomas.  After two days of trying we reached the embassy in New York and it became apparent plans would have to be changed.

They honeymooned in Vegas instead.

Daddy went home after a weekend of hard partying and promptly went blind.  Literally.

You can read all about it here if you haven’t read it before:

 https://toritto.wordpress.com/2016/05/04/cinco-de-mayo-and-my-return-from-blindness/

Of course I didn’t tell the bride and groom.  Pam and her in-laws shuffled me to my eye surgeon of choice and my sight was fully recovered on Cinco de Mayo of 2011.

My girls were on their own living their lives while I enjoyed my retirement.  I did the usual things which keep one busy.  House cleaning.  Laundry.  Food shopping.  Doctor appointments.  Keeping in touch with my brothers/sisters-in-law.  Sunday morning donuts monthly with them. My children would visit regularly and on holidays or I would go to Fort Lauderdale. Each year I had everyone at my place for Easter.  Still do. 

I discovered I enjoyed blogging.  I started somewhere else but found my way here.  I’m amazed that I’ve had over 50,000 hits on this blog.

And the years rolled by – in the blink of an eye.

Marie and Joe went to their concerts, sporting events and vacationed in Key West and Las Vegas.  Pam and Rob went to Vegas last year,  spent Christmas in Orlando with Rob’s family and both take part acting in an amateur theater group.  Of course all four of them worked all the time which is, unfortunately, the way it is in America today.  And as my girls moved into their late thirties I can honestly say I never thought of grand children.  Until Easter Sunday 2016.

On that day, before Toritto’s Easter bash, Marie and Joe told me they were expecting.  And I was sworn to secrecy.  Marie would be very close to 40 years old by the time the baby was due and was seeking specialized care.  Finally, weeks later I was permitted to open my mouth.  I would be a grandfather to a grandson.

Entering her baby shower – September 2016

And on the evening that Trump won the Presidency there was still joy to be found in America.

 

 

which brings us just about to the present.

A couple of weeks after Clark’s birth.  The family Christmas photo.

This Easter, as always, was at my house.  Some of the folks in attendance were not in this photo which was taken in the evening.  Pam’s in-laws for example.  My neighbor, a woman in her 80s and also a widow.  Some who would attend each year are now gone.   There are three widowers in this photo.  Myself and my two brothers-in-law on my right.  Our wives and also a good friend who passed several Easters ago are not here.  There are two in the photo who would very unexpectedly lose their wife / mother since this photo was taken and the old widow next door passed away last week.  Her daughter knocked on my door several days ago to thank me for being so kind to her.

But there was a new attendee this year – Clark Cassius being kissed by his daddy.  And the boyfriend (upper left) of my young niece on the lower left.

Tomorrow my brother-in-law Buddy (his real name is Angelo), directly to my right will be 80 years old.  His daughter, the blond directly between us, is giving him a birthday party Friday.  I bought the best bottle of Chianti I could find.

The procession of the living goes on.  There you have it  folks  – a life (at least up until now!!) in 20 posts.

.

The father/daughter dance song at Maries wedding.  I danced around the house with her to this song when she was a baby.

About toritto

I was born during year four of the reign of Emperor Tiberius Claudius on the outskirts of the empire in Brooklyn. I married my high school sweetheart, the girl I took to the prom and we were together for forty years until her passing in 2004. We had four kids together and buried two together. I had a successful career in Corporate America (never got rich but made a living) and traveled the world. I am currently retired in the Tampa Bay metro area and live alone. One of my daughters is close by and one within a morning’s drive. They call their pops everyday. I try to write poetry (not very well), and about family. Occasionally I will try a historical piece relating to politics. :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Toritto – A Life In Pictures – #20

  1. Jennie says:

    Awesome! I rarely use a trendy word, but in the real sense, awesome hits the spot. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. beetleypete says:

    The circle is complete. A life in pictures indeed. Your family doesn’t comment on this blog, but I am guessing they will treasure these 20 posts. Better than any family tree online, and something that will hopefully live on, until CC’s grandchildren are looking back on their family heritage by reading these in the future.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jmsabbagh says:

    Miracle from God . Blessings

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

