Toritto – A Life in Pictures – #2

Uncle Dom, one of my mom’s three younger siblings and me, Easter 1946

Riding bikes with my younger brother Alfred in the park

 

Me at Brookville Lake State Park – 1949

Outside my Brooklyn home with my neighbor’s son, also named Alfred.

My friend Alfred and I after our First Communion in my parent’s bedroom.

And a portion of the party afterwards – May 1953  I’m up top with the bow.  Mom is on the right with the big smile and my brothers Nicholas and Al front and center.

My first grade class photo (1949).   I am standing directly with my teacher (Mrs. Fiore!) just in front of her right arm.  Teacher’s pet!

Christmas – I’m guessing 1953 – my fat period which went on for about a year until I suddenly slimmed down and got like a rail.  And it’s when everyone found out I couldn’t see shit and I got glasses.   Mom, Al with his tongue out and Nicholas.

A photo which can’t be restored.  The five of us – dad, mom, me, Al and Nicholas in 1952.  I STILL had no glasses!

About toritto

I was born during year four of the reign of Emperor Tiberius Claudius on the outskirts of the empire in Brooklyn. I married my high school sweetheart, the girl I took to the prom and we were together for forty years until her passing in 2004. We had four kids together and buried two together. I had a successful career in Corporate America (never got rich but made a living) and traveled the world. I am currently retired in the Tampa Bay metro area and live alone. One of my daughters is close by and one within a morning’s drive. They call their pops everyday. I try to write poetry (not very well), and about family. Occasionally I will try a historical piece relating to politics. :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Toritto – A Life in Pictures – #2

  1. Lara/Trace says:

    Treasures! Cute you are!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. beetleypete says:

    Great to have that class photo. I have none of my own schooldays.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. paolsoren says:

    Love the class photo too. It enlarges well. Did all boys wear a tie to school or was it just photo day. And which kids wore the little bow ties?

    Liked by 1 person

    • toritto says:

      Paol – I think the boys all had to wear a tie and a white shirt each day.. As for bow ties, I’m pretty sure they were optional and acceptable. I’m sure parents dressed their kids up a bit for photo day. I’m wearing a tie even though you can’t see it in the photo.

      Best regards from Florida.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Jennie says:

    This is so wonderful. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

