Moving To The Head Of The Line

Once when I stood in a line
I was younger than everyone;
Younger than ball players
Younger than cops
Younger than soldiers
Younger than the check-out lady
at the grocery store.

Everyone was older than me;
I wanted to be older too.

Then came the season
when everyone was just like me;
ball players
cops
soldiers

the check-out woman at the store.

Time is relative Einstein said;
The time was mine
but I didn’t notice the simple joys
of Spring and Summer.

It’s only now I notice
having moved to the front of the line
that everyone I see
is younger than me.

cops
ball players
soldiers
The check-out girl at the grocery store.

Do you think they notice
the simple joys
of Spring?
Of Summer?

“May I help you with your groceries sir?”

.

[

About toritto

I was born during year four of the reign of Emperor Tiberius Claudius on the outskirts of the empire in Brooklyn. I married my high school sweetheart, the girl I took to the prom and we were together for forty years until her passing in 2004. We had four kids together and buried two together. I had a successful career in Corporate America (never got rich but made a living) and traveled the world. I am currently retired in the Tampa Bay metro area and live alone. One of my daughters is close by and one within a morning’s drive. They call their pops everyday. I try to write poetry (not very well), and about family. Occasionally I will try a historical piece relating to politics. :-)
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Moving To The Head Of The Line

  1. beetleypete says:

    With you all the way here, Frank. We are talking the same language, a few years apart.
    ‘Moving up’, everything. Including the family ‘waiting to die’ list! 🙂
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jennie says:

    Wonderful post. Really wonderful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

