Peace Train

Have you heard sweet Melanie’s song?
There’s a chance peace will come
in your life
please buy one.

How long, how long
’till the peace train holy roller?
Fear I won’t live to see the light
peace train gliding through the night.

When young the peace train sounded louder
in your life peace will come
but seems the world still worships Mars
and love cannot steer the stars.

Do I hear a whistle blowing?
Is it rolling ’round the bend?
Is that the peace train coming
or will the killing never end?

Forgotten war of long ago
moving south through the land of Ho
Desert Shield and Desert Storm
I know there will be peace; I know.

I missed the war to end all wars
missed both volumes one and two
seventy years of life; no peace
too late for me, but not for you.

There’s a chance
peace will come
for your son;
please buy one.

If we had spent these three score ten
feeding hungry women and men
I know we’d have no enemies
I know it

I just know it
I just know it
I just know it.
choo-choo.

.

Sweet Melanie – who lived in our town a half century ago

About toritto

I was born during year four of the reign of Emperor Tiberius Claudius on the outskirts of the empire in Brooklyn. I married my high school sweetheart, the girl I took to the prom and we were together for forty years until her passing in 2004. We had four kids together and buried two together. I had a successful career in Corporate America (never got rich but made a living) and traveled the world. I am currently retired in the Tampa Bay metro area and live alone. One of my daughters is close by and one within a morning’s drive. They call their pops everyday. I try to write poetry (not very well), and about family. Occasionally I will try a historical piece relating to politics. :-)
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Peace Train

  1. beetleypete says:

    I was born during the Korean War, to a father who served through WW2, and a mother who endured the Blitz in London. Then came Aden, Kenya, Cyprus, Malaya, Belgian Congo, Rhodesia, Angola, Vietnam, Cambodia, Afghanistan, Chechnya , and too many more to recall.
    I too have never known peace, and never really expected to.
    Powerful work, Frank. As always.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.