C. C. Wolf and D. J. Trump

clark4

Last night I drank a few shots – scotch and ice.

My grandson was in the process of coming into this world just as it appeared the world as I knew it was falling apart.  Welcome to Trump World.

It was a good night for drinks both for celebratory reasons and for OMG reasons.  Clark Cassius Wolf (“CC” for short) didn’t care.  He simply opened his eyes and looked around.

This morning we are all looking around.  Last night I knew Hillary was in trouble early on.   Florida did not go the way the pundits foretold; nor did North Carolina; nor did Pennsylvania.  It was downhill from 9 P.M. on.  CC wouldn’t come into the world until after ten;  by that time I had polished off two drinks and left the bottle on the kitchen counter for easy access.

The birth of my grandson put me in joyous mood as congratulatory phone calls and texts came in addressed to “Grandpa!”   By the time it quieted down and I got back to the television, the election was over.

The white working class of middle America had thrown a bomb at the elites of both parties.  The Republican party of Ronald Reagan and Bush the greater and Bush the Lesser is dead.  In it’s place something still quite unknown.

It remains to be seen what we have wrought.

The Democrats, come January, will wield the least amount of power in my lifetime.  The GOP will hold the Presidency and both houses of Congress with the power to select the next Supreme Court justice replacing the late Justice Scalia.

We are essentially in a period of one party rule.

The Dems have no one but themselves to blame.  The party abandoned the white working man thirty years ago.

Last night over drinks I thought about where I came from and my dad – a white working man with an 8th grade education and a union card.  And I knew why Donald Trump is so popular among white working men without college degrees.

I recall watching the Democratic Convention on the night Hillary was nominated over Bernie Sanders.  During that evening I saw one female speaker after another.  Black women, Hispanic women, white women, disabled women, Native American women, “dream” girls.  They talked about love, don’t hate, inclusion for gays, the disabled, Muslims, single mothers, equal pay, glass ceilings, our children, young girls all over the world yadayadayada.  Rich celebrities joined in – more about equality and equal pay and glass ceilings.  I guess I was supposed to feel sorry for millionaire female celebrities.

The only male on the speaker’s rostrum that night was Bill Clinton.

Oh wait.  There was a young man with a rare form of dwarfism who spoke briefly.

I did not see one representative of the lower white working class.  Not one.  Not one representative of a union.  Not one white male from a rural area of West Virginia, Pennsylvania or Ohio.  Not one white male from the rust belt created by Bill Clinton’s trade policies.

That night there was no one in the Democratic Party addressing his issues, his concerns.  Bernie Sanders had been defeated.

And we now wonder where Trump got his support?

The Clintons have suffocated the Democratic Party for decades.  Perhaps now is the time; they are thrown off and the party is free of them.

I can only hope, looking at a picture of CC that he was not born into the reincarnation of Weimar.

Today is the 78th anniversary of Kristallnacht.

 

 

 

About toritto

I was born during year four of the reign of Emperor Tiberius Claudius on the outskirts of the empire in Brooklyn. I married my high school sweetheart, the girl I took to the prom and we were together for forty years until her passing in 2004. We had four kids together and buried two together. I had a successful career in Corporate America (never got rich but made a living) and traveled the world. I am currently retired in the Tampa Bay metro area and live alone. One of my daughters is close by and one within a morning’s drive. They call their pops everyday. I try to write poetry (not very well), and about family. Occasionally I will try a historical piece relating to politics. :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to C. C. Wolf and D. J. Trump

  1. beetleypete says:

    Fingers crossed that little CC will live to see happier times, Frank.
    The ‘worms’ are turning indeed. Maybe it is their time?
    I cannot help but think that little will change. Even after eight years of Obama, I am pushed to think of any real progress.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. greenpete58 says:

    Congratulations on your grandson! He looks a lot like my son, born 1990. Glad you have some joy during this depressing time.

    I agree with most of your post, Frank, but I disagree that Dems have “only themselves” to blame. Sure, they’ve over-emphasized their allegiance to women and minorities at the expense of white males (like you and me), who are the single largest voting block. And Hillary made major mistakes in the primaries with some way-too-harsh comments about Bernie, alienating the liberal and young voters she desperately needed. But also to blame is our fawning 24-hour news media, who devoted unprecedented coverage of Trump and his almost daily outrages, to only heighten his profile among the yahoo faction. Also, the Republican ritual of slinging mud, which they’ve perfected, and which dates back to at least 1988 and Lee Atwater, and which influences so many Americans unable or unwilling to look beneath the surface of things. She had a substantial lead in the polls until the FBI decided to raise new email suspicions. I predict Trump will be finished by 2020, but there will be massive damage done to the country. Singer David Crosby said it best: Trump “has pulled a scab off an ongoing infection in this country of racism and stupidity that is beyond belief.”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congrats on your grandson, Toritto! What a time to come into this world!

    Like

  4. Congratulations from Ireland, Frank! He’s a beautiful child.

    As for Trump, yes, he’s an idiot but could he really be any worse than Bush? Let’s hope not … 🙂

    Like

  5. Lara/Trace says:

    Blessing to CC and your family. How scary the next four years of The Donald.

    Like

  6. That last sentence is a horrifying piece of synchronicity. Nevertheless, being a grandpa must surely trump (sorry!) everything. x

    Like

  7. jfwknifton says:

    Career politicians despise the working class and now they have been made to suffer. Brexit was exactly the same. Poor people not wanting foreigners to take their jobs and then be happy to work for half the minimum wage because they know no better.

    Like

  8. Pamela T. says:

    Well, I voted for Jill Stein after looking her up on Wikipedia, and it seems our word didn’t matter in the end. America isn’t really a free society anyway. I wish I could give up my U.S. Citizenship and move to another country that actually cares about humanity and where health care is free.

    Like

Leave a Reply

