The Passing of Terry

terry3

My sister-in-law Terry, my late wife’s older sister, passed away yesterday.  She was 75 years old.

She was newly married when I began dating her sister back in ’63 so I’ve known her and her surviving husband Vic for a very long time.

We live 15 minutes apart, spend Easter and Christmas together and perhaps once a month I wiould pick up donuts on a pleasant Sunday morning and drop in for coffee and conversation.  She was anxiously awaiting the arrival of her sister’s grandson next month.

In the half century plus since we met I can say with all honesty that an unkind word has never passed between us.  How many can make that statement?

She had been ill with heart disease for decades, complications of Scarlet Fever as a child.  She had a steel valve in her chest and a pacemaker.  She suffered a stroke perhaps 25 years ago which left her partially disabled on one side but she never gave up living.

She raised two fine sons and was with her sister and I when we buried our two sons.  She was also there for the joy of our two daughters.

Her older widowed brother also lives nearby.  We are now three old men who buried their wives living in houses alone, doing our best to find our way.

I will be out of touch for awhile.  I’m sure you understand.  Regards from Florida.

joannandterry1

JoAnn and Terry -two sisters -1948

The loves of our lives

 

About toritto

I was born during year four of the reign of Emperor Tiberius Claudius on the outskirts of the empire in Brooklyn. I married my high school sweetheart, the girl I took to the prom and we were together for forty years until her passing in 2004. We had four kids together and buried two together. I had a successful career in Corporate America (never got rich but made a living) and traveled the world. I am currently retired in the Tampa Bay metro area and live alone. One of my daughters is close by and one within a morning’s drive. They call their pops everyday. I try to write poetry (not very well), and about family. Occasionally I will try a historical piece relating to politics. :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Passing of Terry

  1. beetleypete says:

    My condolences, Frank. She was no doubt a lovely lady, who will be sadly missed by her loving family and friends.
    Regards, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m sad to read your news, Frank. Take care.
    Sarah x

    Like

  3. jfwknifton says:

    My condolences on your sad loss.

    Like

  4. yasb says:

    My condolences from heart

    Like

  5. sojourner says:

    My condolences, Frank

    Like

  6. Lara/Trace says:

    Prayers sent to you and family. ❤

    Like

  7. Condolences from Ireland, Frank.

    Like

  8. chmjr2 says:

    I am so very sorry to hear of this new pain in your life. I hope memories of happier times are a comfort.

    Like

  9. With my sympathy and best wishes

    Like

Leave a Reply

