In Memory of Nicholas

3-10-2006-02

Mom, standing, holding Nicholas.  Seated are my aunt and her son (he’s now retired in Arizona.  On the ground are Alfred (left) and me (right.  Taken in Hempstead Lake State Park on Long Island, 1949.

momand kids1

Mom, me (during my chubby stage!), Alfred and Nicholas – Christmas 1953

mom ps187

Nicholas (front and center) Mom and I in the back row; Alfred in front of me and a childhood friend on the left.  May Day at Public School 187 in Brooklyn – 1955

Below, Nicholas and our cousin who now lives in Charleston.

nicholas2

nickie1

Nicholas with our mutt in our little house on the edge of Coney Island which sat on a dirt street, now under a big box parking lot. He sits on the couch on which I slept during my teen years.  He and Al shared the available bedroom in bunk beds.

3-10-2006-13

Nicholas (center) at his 40th birthday party.  Toritto on the left, Al on the right. My brothers were in their mustache period!

.

Our baby brother would have been 68 years old this weekend.  He passed away at 56 in 2004, just three months after my wife passed.  I wrote about him a year ago on his birthday.  You can read it here:

https://toritto.wordpress.com/2015/09/12/for-nickie-who-would-have-been-67-next-week/

He was there for me when our son Michael passed in 1985.  One of the few regrets I have in my life is not knowing him better than I did.  We both certainly had our troubles and these plus distance combined to create the heartache I feel today.  Carpe diem.

.

About toritto

I was born during year four of the reign of Emperor Tiberius Claudius on the outskirts of the empire in Brooklyn. I married my high school sweetheart, the girl I took to the prom and we were together for forty years until her passing in 2004. We had four kids together and buried two together. I had a successful career in Corporate America (never got rich but made a living) and traveled the world. I am currently retired in the Tampa Bay metro area and live alone. One of my daughters is close by and one within a morning’s drive. They call their pops everyday. I try to write poetry (not very well), and about family. Occasionally I will try a historical piece relating to politics. :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In Memory of Nicholas

  1. beetleypete says:

    I remember last year’s tribute to you brother, Frank. I never had any brothers or sisters. Mostly, I tend to think I was lucky not to. Then I read things like this, about the love and memories of a family.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. jfwknifton says:

    You never really understand the finality of death until somebody dies and it leaves unfinished business, especially negative feelings that could, and possibly should, have been sorted out without too many problems. .

    Liked by 2 people

  3. paintdigi says:

    Good posts, beautiful blog.
    Congratulations.
    Welcome to see my creations:
    http://paintdigi.wordpress.com

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Lara/Trace says:

    I am so sorry for your loss – it never seems to dim when its someone you loved.

    Like

Leave a Reply

