Hurricane Warning

hurricane1

Well Toritto is under a hurricane warning as Tropical Storm Hermione strengthens in the Gulf of Mexico.  It is expected to make landfall north of me in the Big Bend area of the Florida Panhandle sometime tonight.

Yesterday I rose from my nightly beauty rest to heavy, steady rain.  The outer bands of the storm, still some 200 miles away from Tampa Bay dumped some ten inches of water about twenty miles south of me.  It rained heavily all day but luckily without any serious wind. 

The rain stopped about ten o’clock last night and this morning the sun was shining; but not for long;

hurricane3

The media was near hysteria about a coming storm surge at high tide near coastal areas and evacuations along the coast were ordered to the north of Toritto’s ranch. 

Hurricanes, even weak ones are taken seriously around here.  Florida has not been hit by a hurricane since 2005.  That storm blew out the windows in my daughter’s apartment when she was in law school.  Power was out for days.  Luckily she followed daddy’s advice and filled her car up with gas before the storm and came home the next day.  When she returned almost a week later the windows had been repaired but the power was still out.

hurricane2

So Toritto went out this morning, picked up some necessary pills, water and food he could eat without power.

The rain has begun falling again and it is windier than it was yesterday.  I don’t worry about tidal storm surge as my home is some 18 miles from the Gulf and 61 feet about sea level. I have never seen any serious flooding around me but one never knows.  I keep flood insurance even though no one thinks I need it; and because no one thinks I need it, it’s cheap.

So I am going to batten down the hatches for a few days.  My Kindle is fully charged and I have a classic Russian novel to read.

See you on the other side!

.

About toritto

I was born during year four of the reign of Emperor Tiberius Claudius on the outskirts of the empire in Brooklyn. I married my high school sweetheart, the girl I took to the prom and we were together for forty years until her passing in 2004. We had four kids together and buried two together. I had a successful career in Corporate America (never got rich but made a living) and traveled the world. I am currently retired in the Tampa Bay metro area and live alone. One of my daughters is close by and one within a morning’s drive. They call their pops everyday. I try to write poetry (not very well), and about family. Occasionally I will try a historical piece relating to politics. :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Hurricane Warning

  1. A Russian novel? You’re in for the possible long haul. Good luck. Stay safe.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. beetleypete says:

    This even made today’s news in the UK, Frank.That means it is either officially bad, or they are warning the late holidaymakers going to Florida! I hope you are spared the worst, and that it passes safely for the other residents too.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. GP Cox says:

    Stay safe!
    New Zealand just got hit with an earthquake about 2 hours ago – Mother Nature has it in for us these days!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ms. V says:

    Russian novels? Oh T., you should never read the Russians in bad weather. Hope you’re keeping safe and dry.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. jfwknifton says:

    If you haven’t already read it, Gogol’s “Dead Souls” is a, perhaps, a lesser known classic and well worth a look.

    Liked by 1 person

    • toritto says:

      Hi JFW – I recently finished “And quiet flows the Don” and “White Guard”. Today I started “Life and Fate.” Will put Dead Souls on the reading list! Regards

      Like

  6. sojourner says:

    Stay safe!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Well, if you can, if the power does not go out, please check in with us so that we know our beloved Toritto is okay! Oh..and enjoy that Russian novel. I just started on another novel. Nothing so heavy as your novel. It’s ‘Broken’ by Karen Fossum, but thankfully, our flood stage here has passed as we were under a flood warning for this past week.

    You take care of yourself Toritto!

    Like

  8. Norman Pilon says:

    Yup, stay safe, Frank, and happy reading. I`d also take a bit of time out and stare out the window and enjoy the chaos. But that`s me. I like storms. Especially the scary ones. Hope the aftermath isn`t too consequential for anyone, though. It`s good that Florida takes these things seriously to minimize harm.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

