Old Blue Eyes

04640007

Toritto in 1982 at40

No, this is not a post about Frank Sinatra!

If you were lured here under false pretenses as a lover of Sinatra please accept my apologies.  If you are interested in why I picked the title well then, please read on!

People getting on in years know the feeling.  You look in the mirror at your face, at your body and wonder. How in God’s name did I get here?  You don’t recognize the person staring back at you.  Wrinkled.  Sagging eye lids.  Lack of muscle.  Who is that person?

Yes.  It’s you.  Or in my case. it’s me.  Where is that cute, muscular dude I used to be?

So a couple of weeks ago 73 year old Toritto is looking in the mirror while shaving. Jeez, you’re old!  Then I laugh at myself.  Hell, this is the best I’m gonna look from now on!  It only gets worse from here. It’s all downhill!

Something however seems different about my face.  I’m not sure what it is but something is definitely amiss.

I study my face.  I look really close.  And then I am aghast.

It’s my eye color!  My eyes are changing color!  It’s not possible! My brown eyes are turning blue!  How can that be!

I’ve always had brown eyes.  Very brown eyes.  No other color in them but brown.  Yet looking closely at them with a magnifying mirror just to make sure, there they are  – blue eyes!

Now those of you who read me know I was blind for several weeks five years ago and required eye surgery to restore my vision.  You can read about it here:

https://toritto.wordpress.com/2016/05/04/cinco-de-mayo-and-my-return-from-blindness/

Luckily I am having my 6 month appointment with my young ophthalmologist in a week.  So I wait.  You can be sure I will bring it up with him.

Off to the eye doctor two weeks ago.  While he’s looking through his instruments checking my retinas I let it out.  “Hey doc – why are my eyes turning blue?”

I hear a snicker.  I’m guessing that’s a good sign.  “Come on doc! I’ve had brown eyes all of my life!  Suddenly I notice this week my eyes are turning blue!  What’s going on!”

arcus senilis (6)

“It’s called Arcus” says doctor of eyes.  “Actually it’s called Arcus Senilis!”.

Now having a decent knowledge of Latin obtained when public education was really education I immediately connect “senilis” with “senile”,

Doc laughs again.  “No, not senility – think aging.”.

You sometimes get blue eyes when you’re getting old.  Another laugh.

“Not to worry,  It’s absolutely harmless.  It’s caused by deposits on the cornea; lots of times it happens with folks who have or have had high cholesterol.  It’s is harmless, does not affect your vision and is not a pre-cursor to anything else.  It was studied for 30 years in Denmark and the studies revealed no connection with anything.”

And yes, I take cholesterol medication,

So it’s just another indication that I’m officially an old guy soon to have very blue eyes.

They might have been fun when I was a young man.  Too late now.

I’m glad he got a laugh.  Not to worry.  Aging is very democratic – if you live that long!

.

 

About toritto

I was born during year four of the reign of Emperor Tiberius Claudius on the outskirts of the empire in Brooklyn. I married my high school sweetheart, the girl I took to the prom and we were together for forty years until her passing in 2004. We had four kids together and buried two together. I had a successful career in Corporate America (never got rich but made a living) and traveled the world. I am currently retired in the Tampa Bay metro area and live alone. One of my daughters is close by and one within a morning’s drive. They call their pops everyday. I try to write poetry (not very well), and about family. Occasionally I will try a historical piece relating to politics. :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Old Blue Eyes

  1. beetleypete says:

    I started with blue eyes, so hopefully they will end up looking like Paul Newman’s.
    I doubt that I was ever cute, I wasn’t muscular, and certainly not a dude, but I feel the pain of the changes I see, just like you.
    Nice to know that it was nothing to worry about, all the same.
    All together now- “Start spreading the news…”
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad to know it’s nothing to worry about but I don’t want to go blue! It look really weird!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. leggypeggy says:

    And I have cataracts! 😦

    Liked by 2 people

  4. jfwknifton says:

    Think positive…you’ll attract a lot more ladies with those new blue eyes.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

