American Gulag

A re-post from February 2015

supermax2

A concrete room seven by twelve

measured by feet

placed one in front of the other

in the straight line I have walked for decades.

.

Concrete furniture permanently arranged

table, chair, bed

I have no right

to move furniture anymore.

.

Red metal door with opaque window

just a slot to pass the food

I will always eat alone.

I have no right to conversation or company.

.

Cameras watch me dark and light

even on the low water toilet

lest I try to escape to the next world.

Low water lest I drown myself.

.

I used to play with myself

while they watched

but not anymore.

It’s no fun when you can no longer imagine.

,

My room is sound proof

No window to the outside

There is no outside.

Twenty three hours a day with nothing to do

save penance.

.

I hear no one

I see no one

Nothing to fill the void.

but the sound of my breathing and heartbeat.

.

I am exercised one hour a day

at the bottom of a concrete pool

under a tiny piece of sky

surrounded by concrete walls.

No birds fly over this place.

.

I don’t know where I am

I am kept in a room at this hotel.

I’ve never seen the other guests

though I am kept alive by someone.

.

If I don’t eat

the tube goes up my nose to keep me healthy;

prolong my living.

Why do they want me to live?

.

I can no long remember my mother’s face

or the love of a woman or green grass

I can no longer remember the color green

There is no existence save the electronic zoo.

And there is no green.

.

Stalin would have been more merciful

.

He might have simply worked me to death

under a forest canopy in Siberia

I might have died in Spring

in the arms of others

still with the memory of my mother’s face

the love of a woman

the color green.

.

Shoot me.

 

About toritto

I was born during year four of the reign of Emperor Tiberius Claudius on the outskirts of the empire in Brooklyn. I married my high school sweetheart, the girl I took to the prom and we were together for forty years until her passing in 2004. We had four kids together and buried two together. I had a successful career in Corporate America (never got rich but made a living) and traveled the world. I am currently retired in the Tampa Bay metro area and live alone. One of my daughters is close by and one within a morning’s drive. They call their pops everyday. I try to write poetry (not very well), and about family. Occasionally I will try a historical piece relating to politics. :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to American Gulag

  1. GP Cox says:

    Stalin would not have been more merciful and you didn’t tell the reader what you did to get in there – or did I miss something?

    Like

  2. beetleypete says:

    I missed this the first time, so thanks for the re-post, Frank.
    Powerful stuff, and informative too. I did think it was just licence plates…
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Like

Leave a Reply

