The Old Man’s Home – With Pix

100_0730

Most of you who read me know I traveled quite a bit during my corporate life; round the world from London, to southern Europe, the mid-East, sub-continent and Hong Kong, Mexico and Brazil.  I regret never having gone to Japan, northern Europe or Russia.  I bought the Japanese doll and a kimono for my youngest during a trip to Seattle.

I always brought something home from a trip abroad, probably due to guilt. You see I left her home with the kids while I flew off to Rome or Paris. Friends thought I had the perfect job.

It got old. I quit and took a job for a lot less money which allowed me to go home every night for the last ten years of my working life. It was the best of times.

In any event I have a lot of what Brooklyn old folks called tchachkes – small things some not very valuable – momentos of trips to far away places I will never see again.

Now don’t get me wrong – I bought some nice things as well – a complete set of Rosenthal china; a custom made Rosenthal blue fondue pot with four plates, porcelain and steel forks, which I haven’t used since the seventies. But I also bought trinkets.

After she passed in 2004 I moved to Florida with my two daughters to be closer to family and their cousins. I bought a new house which I still live in; each of my girls married and began living their own lives. One is close by and the eldest a morning’s drive.  When compared to Miami or downtown Tampa, I live in the boonies which I will describe as “semi-rural”.

Outside my home it looks like this:

https://toritto.wordpress.com/2013/12/10/torittos-morning-walk-with-pix/

So here are some pictures of the old man’s house with no stairs and his tchachkes – his momentos of far away places.  I did all of the decorating myself so if you don’t like it you can blame me!

Inside my house

100_0452

100_0454

100_0453

100_0455The television has been replaced with a larger one. (smile)

100_0457

and some Tchachkes!

100_0735

100_0717

100_0725

100_0729

100_0714

100_0708

100_0720

Hope you liked the old man’s place!

About toritto

I was born during year four of the reign of Emperor Tiberius Claudius on the outskirts of the empire in Brooklyn. I married my high school sweetheart, the girl I took to the prom and we were together for forty years until her passing in 2004. We had four kids together and buried two together. I had a successful career in Corporate America (never got rich but made a living) and traveled the world. I am currently retired in the Tampa Bay metro area and live alone. One of my daughters is close by and one within a morning’s drive. They call their pops everyday. I try to write poetry (not very well), and about family. Occasionally I will try a historical piece relating to politics. :-)
This entry was posted in family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Old Man’s Home – With Pix

  1. Harmonie says:

    That’s a beautiful place!
    Best wishes and regards. 😀
    Take care.

    Like

  2. beetleypete says:

    A nice bright home Frank. I like the semi-rural outlook too. And those tchachkes are pretty impressive as well!
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Like

  3. sojourner says:

    Beautiful home, inside and out! I’d show you my apartment, but the condemned signs get in the way;-)

    Like

  4. Norman Pilon says:

    Very beautifully arranged, Frank. Not at all bad for living in the boonies. And Florida, to boot!

    Like

Leave a Reply

